Do we really need a separate blog corner for Ankylosing spondylitis?

Ankylosing spondylitis (AS) belongs to the spondyloarthropathy group of arthritis that also includes reactive arthritis & psoriatic arthritis. As a group it is as common as Rheumatoid arthritis.

However; Ankylosing spondylitis, somehow, has always been a bit ignored as compared to Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA). It is has been that ‘poor cousin’ of RA. If you look at the number of research papers in a year, one would realize that AS attracts much less research than RA (about 2500 research papers on RA as compared to about 500 on AS in the year 2010- source pubmed). The number of DMARDs available for AS is much lesser than RA. We have clear-cut treatment strategies (for eg. Early DMARDs, tight inflammation control) in RA; however, due to relative lack of studies, such strategies are missing in AS.

Even on the patient/ health care social media (hcsm) front, there are very few AS blogs as compared to RA blogs.

This is a humble effort from my side to bridge this gap & empower the Ankies (Those with Ankylosing spondylitis; just like RAers!) to take care of themselves.

12 Responses to Do we really need a separate blog corner for Ankylosing spondylitis?

  1. Rohit says:

    Yes, indeed. I do agree with you, Dr. Akerkar.

    I am suffering from Ankylosing spondylitis since 5 yrs. A lot of info about RA is available on the net. However, ankylosing information is lacking.

    Your blog would be a great help for all of us.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much Dr. Akerkar!
    We do need more people speaking up about AS. I am one of the very few AS bloggers – although just in the last year the numbers are growing thankfully.

    I look froward to reading this blog. I’m very interested in the statistics like the research you mention above that I can take to the AS community – there is so much confusion as to why AS is that “poor cousin”

    Jenna Visscher

    Like

  3. Abhishek says:

    A very good initiative!
    India needs doctors like you..It will be helpful should you share new researches on AS in INDIA.

    Many thanks,
    Abhishek

    Like

    • Thanks Abhishek!

      No initiative will be successful without active participation from the patients. Our (Indian) patients don’t express themselves much on the internet.
      I would definitely share new research in the field of AS. it’s my earnest request to patients to join in. They can get a lot of information, help/ support on the blogs/ internet.

      Like

  4. Hollyz143 says:

    Hi. I’m new here and new to following you on twitter. Thank you for all that you are doing to help promote AS awareness. It took me 10 doctors and 4 years before I was diagnosed (by my rheumy who I love!!!). It should NOT be this way. When I’m better I look forward to doing all that I can to increase awareness. Especially for the next generation…

    Thanks!!!

    Like

    • The average delay in diagnosis of ankylosing spondylitis is 4-5 years. Awareness in general & among family physicians should help curtail this delay.

      Please be an ambassador for Ankylosing spondylitis & spread as much awareness as possible. This would go a long way to help others.

      All the best!

      Like

  5. Asif Shaikh says:

    It is indeed a good initiative. Like mentioned, it takes a lot of time to diagnose the problem which in turn delays the treatment. Thank you Dr. Akerkar for initiating this blog.

    Like

  6. Alpesh says:

    Hello Everyone ,

    I m suffering from AS n diagnosed 2 years ago. my situation is critical even i cant walk properly , sir please find some cure for this it wil ruin my life…………………………

    Like

  7. You need to take part in a contest for one
    of the best blogs on the internet. I will recommend this website!

    Like

  8. Dr. Akerkar,

    I have been reading your blogs and thank you for the information you have provided, regarding methotrexate.

    I have been under treatment, for fibromyalgia, for near 3 years. In the last 4 months, I have been diagnosed with osteoarthritis, unspecified inflammatory polyarthropathy, and unspecified inflammatory spondylopathy, in my cervical and lumbar regions, and also degenerative sclerosis of the SI joints.

    I was started on MTX, by my rheumatologist, in April. He also prescribed prednisone and folic acid. The MTX quickly affected my daily life.

    I have suffered nausea, headaches, and dizziness coinciding with the MTX treatment. 3 weeks ago, I began injections, instead of oral MTX, along with promethazine the night before and night of injections. The headaches have eased, as has the nausea, but the dizziness persists.

    My rheumatologist insists that the dizziness is not a side effect of MTX. Have you observed this, in any patients you have consulted? The feelings of sickness have prevented me from working and I am at risk of losing my job and medical benefits.

    I would appreciate any information you can advise, regarding dizziness as a side effect of MTX. I am on multiple medications, due to FMS, IBS, hypertension, type 2 diabetes, thyroid tumor (benign), GERD, and allergies.

    Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

